Tags

,

I don’t want to whine or complain, but sometimes, you just have to let it out.

I’m tired.  Sick and tired, actually, of my work, my job.  It’s been six years now since I graduated from college.  And for almost four years of that period of time, I have worked as a call center agent.  I have been accepting inbound calls from different sorts of people.  Most of them irate, frustrated, mad.  Some are discriminating, refusing to listen or accept reason, passive.  Few, and I mean very few, are nice and enjoyable to talk to.

I’ve resigned several times.  Every time, I tell myself I won’t come back. That I will look for different job that will give me a normal life.  A day shift job, even if it’s not related to my course, Journalism.  And I try to look.  I apply relentlessly.  I go to job interviews.  Some of them will ask you to come back several times for several interviews.  You get the initial interview until the final interview.  But in the end, I still don’t get the job for lack of experience in those other fields.  And again, once my savings are depleted and my mother starts complaining for having to sustain my everyday expenses, I have no choice but to apply back in the call center.

It’s a cycle I could not seem to break through. When I lose hope finding a different career, I always tell myself over and over that this time, I will love this job.  That I will embrace it wholeheartedly.  And I do, for a while.  I’ve been trying to love it for years, but how come I still haven’t learned to do so? Am I destined to do this forever?

